1942 began as a year of uncertainty in the United States, and Opelousas as well. Pearl Harbor was attacked on December 7, 1941, and the US was forced to get involved in a war. Photos from the past of Opelousas during that year.
Our photo from the past for today comes from the first page of the Sunday World (Daily World) on Sunday, February 22, 1942.
Although there were several attempts at public education in Opelousas for some time prior to the 1890s, the first public high school in Opelousas that had support and survived was the St. Landry High School established in 1893. Here is the rest of that story.
Photo from the Past is the family of Dr. Armand Lafleur (December 19, 1871 – July 11, 1939) and Mary Evelyn (Mamie) Fontenot Lafleur (June 20, 1879 – December 16, 1868). (Photograph courtesy of Tommy Lafleur)
On a grave in the small Pitre cemetery near Prairie Ronde in St. Landry Parish, Louisiana is a headstone with the inscription, “Dr. Moise Lafleur, who gave his life to science.”
New interpretive signage at Le Vieux Village Heritage Park and Museum, will help create a more enhanced experience for visitors. The new signage includes a QR code which links mobile phone users to the city website where additional history and digital photos of the village can be viewed. In addition, the new digital tool allows Read More…
Editor’s note: The following story about the World War II experiences of U.S. Army Air Corps Capt. and longtime Opelousas resident Wilfred L. Smith is being told through his own wartime photographs, several newspaper articles from 1943 and personal letters discovered about 12 years ago just before his military remembrances packed into garbage bags on an Opelousas street corner, were destined for the parish landfill.
Driving through downtown Washington, LA a century ago.
The story of Hebrew Rest Cemetery in Washington is one of devotion to the graves of long deceased ancestors.
What most people in Opelousas know as Pap’s Motel, was opened on West Landry Street in Opelousas in 1956. But there is so much more to the story of that tourist court and the couple who established the business.
Opelousas will be one of the featured books at this year’s Louisiana Book Festival in Baton Rouge on Saturday, October 29, 2022.
Since the beginning of the Opelousas town market in early 1800s, there was always a meat market operated from there, as well as other businesses such as Gil’s Coffee Shop, established during the latter part of that century.
The first issue of the Clarion-News was published in Opelousas on Thursday, January 3, 1929. That paper was a consolidation of two papers, the Clarion-Progress and the Opelousas News. Click to read the whole story.
Saint Luc Centre Storytelling Competition Held Today in Arnaudville, Photo Gallery by Valli Soileau – St Landry Chamber of Commerce
The St. Landry Catholic Church Cemetery Tour will continue next week-end, Saturday and Sunday, October 15-16, 2022.
No history of the printing and newspaper industry in Opelousas would be complete without knowing more about L. A. “Pete” Andrepont and the impact he had on that industry in the town, the parish and in Louisiana
This rare photo from the past shows the first Yambilee office on Court Street in downtown Opelousas as it appeared in 1946.
Do you have fascinating historical items that you would like to share with the community?
Lighted candle flames danced against the strength of a strong breeze Wednesday night as the memory of perhaps the most violent incident in Opelousas history was recounted by voices from the present.
After reviewing the materials I’ve collected over the last 40 plus years of researching the newspapers of Opelousas, I feel an important paper to the history of our town is one that was almost forgotten
First known a Benny’s Big Star in 1976, Benny’s Supermarket remains in business today in Opelousas.
The deadliest instance of racial violence during the Reconstruction period “the Opelousas massacre” is little remembered today, where hundreds African-Americans died, killed by lynch mobs in an effort to suppress voters turnout.
This is a photograph from c. 1908-09 of the Christman Building on West Landry Street in downtown Opelousas. It was owned by Ben Christman, an Opelousas businessman who operated in town over a century ago. (Photograph courtesy of David Parnell.)
The Opelousas Civic League and Abdalla’s Department Show held a unique style show at the Indian Hills Country Club in Opelousas on April 11, 1961. What made it unique were the fashions that were modeled.
Where was Jim Bowie Born?
Did Jim Bowie Live in Opelousas?
The Jim Bowie Oak
150, 100 and 50 years ago during this week in St. Landry Parish.
Emile and Anna Roger with their two sons Frank and George, at their home in Arnaudville, LA. (John W. Coffey Collection.)
From the two centuries of newspapers in Opelousas during this week of August, over the years …
Following the US Civil War, the merchants and businessmen of Opelousas started to discuss the possibility of organizing for promotional purposes. Although earlier groups were formed over the years before the war, they eventually dispersed because of the war. By the 1870 decade the town was rebuilding, and new businesses were opening. At that time some of the local merchants began to organize, and several groups were started, but with not much success until the 1890s.
See what was happening in our area of Louisiana 150, 100, and 50 years ago.
We know Opelousas had an opera house as early as the 1830s, with the first being called the Opelousas Varieties. There was also the Opelousas Opera House, Perrodin’s Hall, Littell’s Opera House and the Sandoz Opera House. But there was a plan for another opera house that would have outdone all the rest. Unfortunately, it never got built. Read the story of the Opera House That Never Was.
Here’s what was happening in our area of Louisiana this week, over the years.
It was a magical time in Opelousas. A time when there were opera houses in the city. We learned about some of the earliest Opera Houses of old Opelousas, the ones that operated during that century. In Part two we left our story as the 1800s was coming to an end, and Opelousas was moving into a new century. Part Three continues the story of the Opera Houses of Old Opelousas.
The story of the Opelousas Opera Houses continues: By the end of the 1880s and into the early 1890s, the appeal of the Opelousas Opera House and Perrodin’s Hall was starting to fade. The talk of the town at that time became “a new more modern opera house is needed.”
Photographs of the Depot in Washington courtesy of Tommy Lafleur and were used in the book Through A Lens, Early 20th Century Washington, LA. – Photo Album of Ophelia Pitre Lafleur – by Carola Lillie Hartley and Tommy Lafleur.
From its humble beginning in the 1700s, Opelousas provided different forms of entertainment for its citizens. In the early days one could find musical performances and other forms of entertainment at ball rooms in the local hotels, at social halls located on the second floor of downtown business places and even local homes.
Louisiana Yambilee Parade heads south down Court Street in this c. late 1940s photograph. (Carola Lillie Hartley collection.)
Today’s Photo from the Past shows an early Yambilee Parade as it rolled down Court Street during the 1940s.
Ever wonder as you ride through Opelousas what it must have been like one hundred or even two hundred years ago? This story will bring you back in time and show the changes made to just one corner in old Opelousas over its centuries of existence. Let’s explore the corner of Bellevue and Court streets, originally known as the old Gibbs Corner.
It was only the second year of the new 20th century and Opelousas was flourishing like never before. The town was called one of the most progressive and most beautiful in Louisiana. More and more people wanted to visit to see this special place.