Local News School Board

School board selects 2022 president and vice president

Photos by Bobby Ardoin

Contributing Writer

Albert Hayes was chosen unanimously as the 2022 St. Landry Parish School Board president during an annual election held Thursday night.

Joyce Haynes, Vice President and Albert Hayes, Presiden

Board members also chose Joyce Haynes as this year’s board vice-president. Haynes was selected following a 9-3 vote over board member Josh Boudreaux.

Board members Donnie Perron, Kyle Boss and Hazel Sias voted for Boudreaux. In a move that drew laughter from other board members and those who attended the meeting, Boudreaux voted for Haynes.ynes,

Hayes, one of two board members representing Eunice, served as Board vice-president last year.

Haynes represents one of five areas of Ward One that surrounds Opelousas. Haynes has also served as president of the statewide Louisiana Association of Educators.

Superintendent Patrick Jenkins presents 2021 school board president Hazel Sias with a plaque at Thursday's meeting.
Superintendent Patrick Jenkins presents 2021 school board president Hazel Sias with a plaque at Thursday’s meeting.

Neither Hayes or Haynes addressed the meeting following their selections.

However Sias, the 2021 president, says the role of school board president is one that should be taken seriously.
“We must always remember that we have to put our differences aside and work through those in order to create a path for possible changes. I’ve done my best to help this system navigate through a global pandemic,” Sias told the board in her final address.

Superintendent Patrick Jenkins said Sias worked hard during her tenure.

“People don’t realize how much effort it takes to serve as a board president. There are constant things that need attention in addition to all those meetings, especially the ones that are early in the morning,” said Jenkins, who presented Sias with a plaque of appreciation.