Community Local News Parish Council

St. Landry Parish Council Operating Without Newly-selected Chairman and Vice-chairman

Photograph: Jerry Red, Jr. and Harold Taylor discuss Parish Council matters before the start of the regular meeting Wednesday night. (Photograph by Freddie Herpin.)

Editor/Consulting Writer

The St. Landry Parish Council will continue to operate without a newly-selected chairman and vice-chairman, at least for the next couple of weeks.

An opportunity to fill both of the positions failed on Wednesday night as council members remained deadlocked in six-vote ties.

Normally the Council seats 13 members from each of the election districts at committee and regular meeting, but on Wednesday night council member Easton Shelvin did not attend.

For the next couple of weeks, 2022 council chairperson Vivian Olivier will remain in that position until a new chairperson is selected. Nancy Carriere, last year’s vice-chairperson will also serve in that position for the same length of time.

Carriere and Jerry Red Jr. were nominated for 2023 chairman.

Olivier and Coby Clavier were nominated for vice-chairman.

Voting for Red were Jimmy Red, Mildred Thierry, Olivier, Dexter Brown, Timothy LeJeune and Jimmie Edwards.

Council members voting to select Carriere as chairperson were Carriere, Harold Taylor, Gil Savoy, Jr, Alvin Stelly, Wayne Ardoin and Clavier.

Olivier received votes for vice-chairperson from Red, Thierry, Olivier, Brown, LeJeune and Edwards.

Voting for Clavier for vice-chairmen were Carriere, Taylor, Savoy, Stelly, Ardoin and Clavier.